Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve just realised how long it has been since my last post. I was in Nice and had a great time, celebrated my 17th birthday with crepes, macarons and the beautiful sea and enjoyed some sunshine. When I came back, school began and my daily schedule was a bit different than in the holidays which meant that I didn’t have a lot of time for other things than school. That doesn’t mean that I’ve not been busy in the kitchen, just that I didn’t have the time to be that creative and to take pictures and make the food I’ve been preparing look good and taste good at the same time. But I finally made it (I have to admit that I made this before I was in Nice).

Serves 4

  • 180 g beluga lentils (1 cup)
  • 2 onions
  • olive oil
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 300 g Basmati Rice (*Reyhani)
  • 1 potato
  • salt

Rinse the lentils in a sieve and cook them with 400 ml water (2 cups) on medium heat for 15 minutes (the mustn’t be cooked). Chop the onions. In a large pan, roast them with the turmeric and the cumin for about 5 minutes on medium-high heat. Add the pre-cooked lentils, toss them and set aside.

Rinse the rice in a sieve until the water is clear. Place a pot with water on the fire and bring to a boil. Put the rice and 2 tbsp. of salt in it and cook for 6 minutes on medium-high heat. Meanwhile slice the potato into slices. Drain the rice and put some olive oil in the pot, so that the bottom of it is covered with oil.

Cover the bottom of the pot with potato slices. Then start with some rice, put some of the lentils on top and repeat until you have used up all the rice and lentils. Cover the pot and let cook for about 30 minutes on low heat. Flip the rice on a tray and serve with mast o chiar.

If you want, you can decorate the rice with a delicious onion-almond-raisin-whatever. Slice or cube one onion, roast with some oil until they turn golden. Add some raisins , barberries and almond slices and roast for another 2 minutes. Serve with the rice.

Enjoy.