Tags

, , , , , ,

I love the beginning of winter. I love how people start to wear jackets, scarfs and gloves. How they enjoy going into shops just so they don’t have to walk through the cold. I love the feeling of coming home, into the warmth. It gives a feeling of security and protection. I love sitting in my super cozy chair with a cup of tea and a good book. Of course there are a hundred things I don’t like about winter, but why should I mention them? There’s enough negativity in our lives, isn’t there?

What I didn’t mention: I love the combination of apples and cinnamon. It’s fantastic. And perfect to create the most fluffy apple cinnamon muffin you’ve eaten. And again, so super easy. You only need ingredients you usually have at home. Love that. You just feel like you want a muffin, go into the kitchen, and within 30 minutes you have a warm apple cinnamon muffin in front of you, waiting to be eaten by y-o-u.

Makes 12 muffins, or 48 mini muffins

  • 200 g all-purpose flour (1 1/3 cups)
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate
  • a pinch of salt
  • 100 g brown sugar (3/4 cup)
  • 2 apples
  • 70 g vegetable oil (90 ml, 1/3 cup)
  • 150 ml soy or rice milk (1/2 cup + 2 tbsp)
  • 1 – 2 tbsp cider vinegar

Preheat the oven to 180° C (360° F). In a large bowl, mix the flour, cinnamon, bicarbonate, salt and sugar. Peel the apples. Grate one apple very finely and cut the other one in small cubes. Add the rest of the ingredients to the flour mixture (you might want to add some more sugar).

Fill the batter in to a prepared muffin tin and bake the muffins for about 20 – 22 minutes until a skewer comes clean from the center of the cake. Done. That was it.

Enjoy.