Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The weather is making me crazy. School a little bit, too. But that doesn’t matter. As long as you have lovely friends and family, everything’s good. And food, of course. Good food.

Yesterday I found some white mushrooms my mum had bought for me, uncertain if I’d be overjoyed or if I’d scold her for buying things nobody eats. But obviously, I was very happy to find them and decided to stuff them. The problem was that we hadn’t really anything very special at home, so I had to fill them with the most basic stuff you can imagine: onions and potatoes. But have you got an idea how delicious it tasted?

Serves… uhm, I ate three mushrooms all by myself as a main dish, but I guess 4 mushrooms should be good for two, also depending on if you make them as a main dish or appetizer… I don’t know. Better to make more in this case. 

  • 1 garlic clove
  • 400 g canned, chopped tomatoes (13 oz)
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 3 big white mushrooms
  • 1 onion
  • 1 potato
  • olive oil
  • 1 tbsp white balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp bread crumbs

Slice the garlic clove. In a pan, heat some olive oil and fry the clove for about two minutes, until it starts to colour. Add the canned tomatoes and let it cook on medium-low heat for about 10 to 20 minutes. Add the red wine vinegar and season with salt.

Meanwhile scoop or cut the stem of the mushroom to provide a little space for the filling. Dice the onions, potatoes and mushroom stems and fry them in a pan with some olive oil, about 10 minutes. Deglaze with balsamic vinegar. Season with salt and pepper.

Preheat the oven to 200° C (390° F). Fill the mushrooms with the onion-potato filling. Pour the tomato sauce into an oven-safe dish and place the mushrooms into it. Sprinkle with the breadcrumbs and bake for about 20 minutes.

Enjoy.