Tags

, , , , , , ,

First of all: This post is dedicated to my beloved cousin Adib. He’s more of a brother than a cousin actually and he’s the best male cook I know. Seriously. He had told me about this vegetarian bolognese he always makes some time ago and was enthusing about how delicious it tasted. I was sure that it tasted delicious, but I’m glad you didn’t see me eating it – you would have thought that I was about to starve. It tasted so so so good.

So when I was in Vienna two weeks ago, I begged him to show me how to cook this delicious bolognese. I suggested that we could cook it together. (unfortunately he ended up cooking it alone because I was a bit tired from our shopping trip and just watched him from the couch. Sorry, Adib.) But anyways, it was as delicious as the first time he made it for me. And while I’m writing this post, my mind is a bit too busy with thinking about the bolognese that would like to go directly into my mouth. Now.

Serves 2

  • 50 g granulated soy (1/2 cup)
  • 10 g vegetable soup powder or cube (1 – 2 tbsp)
  • 2 onions
  • 4 carrots
  • 1 tbsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon powder
  • olive oil
  • 2 tbsp tomato purée
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 2 splashes balsamic vinegar
  • 400 g canned, chopped tomatoes (13 oz)
  • 1 handful cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bunch parsley, optional
  • salt and pepper

Put the granulated soy into a bowl and sprinkle with the vegetable soup or cube. Pour on boiling water (the soy should be covered generously) and set aside.

Grate the onions and carrots. In a large non-stick frying pan heat some olive oil. Add the  grated onions and carrots and fry for about 10 minutes or until the carrots start to colour. Add the turmeric and cinnamon and fry for another 2 minutes.

In the middle of the pan, make a hole. Strain the granulated soy and keep the water in a cup. In the hole, fry the soy for about 5 minutes, stirring.

Mix together with the carrots and onions. You may need to add some more olive oil. Make a hole again in the middle of the pan and add the tomato purée with some more olive oil. Fry for about 2 minutes, stirring continuously.

Now add the water you kept, lemon juice and balsamic vinegar. Add the canned tomatoes and the cherry tomatoes and reduce to low heat. (rinse the can and add that water, too) Let it cook for about an hour, adding water if necessary.

If you want, chop the parsley and add to the bolognese. (I was so excited that I forgot.) Season with salt and pepper and some more lemon juice or balsamic vinegar if you want.

Prepare the pasta (I took linguine) according to package instructions (100 g per person should be enogh). Add to the bolognese and sprinkle with olive oil to serve.

Ta-daaaa. There you go. The best bolognese EVER. Be careful to not eat half of it before serving with the pasta. There’s a very high risk, I’m telling you this from experience.

Enjoy. Every single bite. 

Wonderful weekend in Vienna! Yummy fruit salad for breakfast, delicious vegan ice cream, awesome bolognese of course and look at this fanciful iPhone case he made for me!