Tags

, , , , , , ,

I came across an old blog post some days ago in which I was writing about how I applied for the university of teacher education. The fact that I handed in my bachelor thesis makes me realise once again that time flies. I know this sounds ridiculous, but I’m starting to feel old. Not in a bad way, and for now, I don’t care too much about age, but it’s the little things that make me realise I’m not a teenager anymore. I see my parent’s friends kids grow up and think: where has time gone? I remember holding them on my chest and singing lullabies to them, occassionally bursting with laughter because of the hickups that wouldn’t stop and made them wake up every two minutes, and now they turn six. WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN?

You might remember that I posted a recipe for Osterpinzen, a traditional Austrian Easter Bread about a year ago. And you might also know that I’ve been trying to reduce my waste in the last couple of months. A way of doing this for me is also to cook with ingredients that don’t produce waste, and even if I make my own nut milk which is technically a zero-waste product, I am aware that not everyone wants to. I’m also avoiding palm oil by all means, which is why I don’t necessarily want to use margarine. This recipe is as a really low-waste recipe, if you wish, and I am absolutely thrilled by the result 5 ingredients can produce.

Makes 5 braids

  • 280 ml water
  • 50 g sugar
  • 1/2 cube fresh yeast (20 g)
  • 500 g flour (I used spelt) + some extra flour for dusting
  • 70 g oil
  • 1/2 tbsp salt
  • 2 tbsp apricot jam + some water

In a pot, heat a little water to dissolve the sugar. Bring to a short boil and add to the remaining water. The mixture should be luke warm, not hot.

Add the yeast and mix until it is dissolved.

Place the flour in a large bowl and make a mould. Add the yeast-mixture, salt and oil and mix with a spoon, then knead until the dough is nice and shiny. Depending on the flour you use, you might have to add some more.

Place the dough back into the bowl, rub with some oil and cover with a dish towel. Let the dough rise for an hour or two, until it doubles in size.

Form small buns to braid your bread(s). Size and style really depend on your taste. I tried to braid them with six strands until I decided that complicated braiding styles are not made for me (but it admittedly looks really cool, so maybe you want to give it a try).

As you might know, usually egg is used to brush them for a nice and shiny look. An amazing vegan alternative is apricot jam with water. Make sure to use pureed jam without skins (as opposed to me) to obtain an even shinier look.

Let them rise for another 20 minutes. Preheat oven to 180° C and bake for 20-25 minutes, until they have a golden-brown colour.

Enjoy. 

