Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Two weeks ago, I started to wash my hair with rye flour and using apple cider vinegar as a conditioner. Sounds crazy? It is.

My hair routine, if you wish to call it like that, consisted in shampoo and conditioner the last couple of months, but a look into my bathroom-cupboard revealed the countless products I put my hair through in the last couple of years. Styling mousse, serum, hair oil, hair spray, heat and sun protection spray, anti-dandruff serum etc. etc. etc. Chemicals, in one word. Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Parabens, Polyethylene Glycol, Fragrances, Triclosan. I have no clue what they are, but I know for sure that I don’t want to put chemicals I can’t even pronounce the names of on my body.

Although I invested so much money and time into my hair, I had to wash them every other day. I found this pretty annoying, and I read about washing my hair with baking soda.

I thought it was pretty cool you could wash your hair with baking soda, and as baking soda is a great thing and cleans about everything, I thought it must definitely work with your head and hair, too. The author in this article is definitely very happy with how well it works. Because I personally felt only using baking soda on my head is not great, I used shampoo once a week and washed my hair with baking soda or simply water the other two times in the week. It worked well, but apparently baking soda, after all, turns out not to be as great as I thought.

Just in time I read this and was over-the-top excited about the news from Day 4: Washing your hair with rye flour. And rinsing them with apple cider vinegar. No waste produced and no chemicals that are poured down the drain and make their way into the food chain. Brilliant. This video was published some days after I had tried washing them with rye flour for the first time, and helped me discover some cool new ideas.

No-poo shampoo

My hair routine now

  • 2 tbsp wholemeal rye flour mixed with enough water to make a rye paste, similar in texture to shampoo. Because my new favourite way of making coffee is cold-brew, I often have some coffee grounds I add to the rye shampoo. Coffee stimulates your hair follicles which means that it will make your hair nice and shiny. Put the paste into your head, and pretend it’s shampoo. After massaging it in, make sure to turn the shower up to maximumto rinse all the coffee grounds out well.

rye flour as shampoo

rye flour shampoo

coffee grounds for no-poo method

rye and coffee shampoo

  • When I’m in a hurry, after having washed my hair, I add 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar to a glass and fill it up with cold water. I pour it over my hair, wait a minute and rinse it with ice cold water. This helps close the cutile and makes your hair look shiny.

apple cider vinegar ACV rinse

When I have time, I make some (black!) tea, let it stand for 3-4 hours and add the vinegar to a glass of tea. The rest of the procedure is the same as the water-apple-rinse. Side-effect: it smells like iced tea. Note: If you have really light hair, you might want to skip the tea unless you’re in for a rude surprise…

Another thing people do is to add some essential oils like rosemary or lemon grass, but I’m happy with my hair not smelling like anything.

Black tea rinse after washing hair

Black Tea Rinse

Have you had similar great experiences with the no-poo method? Any other tips and tricks?

The no-poo method

How to wash hair zero waste