Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s been almost three months here in Italy and I’m starting to realise that your environment can really influence you. Like, A LOT.

The most remarkable thing Italy has succeeded in has been to make someone who took pride in not being addicted to caffeine a person who barely spends a day without drinking a cappuccino. With soy/almond/rice milk, please.

Closely related to becoming a coffee-addict is my cornetto/brioche consumption (I still don’t get the difference, if there is any) which has gotten to the point where I need to pull myself together not to get a cornetto on my way to (or from) uni. Bad, bad habit, I know, but I tested if my addiction was severe by spending four days back home. I didn’t have one croissant and I didn’t miss it, I had a croissant the first day because I went to have breakfast with my parents, and the croissant was part of the deal (damn it!), but I managed not to have one for the remaining three days and I didn’t miss it, so I decided I can happily continue eating croissants while being here. On a side note, vegan croissants are pretty luscious, too.

One funny thing I have witnessed for the second time now, is that “good” becomes very relative when you go abroad. After I lived in London, people whose English I had considered perfect before suddenly had heavy accents. The pizza in that restaurant I always considered fairly good, suddenly is extremely dry and fairly terrible. Oh Italy, what hast Thou done unto me? 

Thankfully my taste for wholesome and vegan food has not changed, though I admittedly am not being very vegan here (because pizza, homemade pasta and cornettos).

This cashew cream is a friend’s invention and one of the best things that has happened to me (and to you). Very very thankful for this invention and for my mum who had asked her for the recipe and regularly makes it ever since. So yes, this post is more like a guest post, because apart from taking the pictures, I didn’t do much. (Thanks Andrea for the recipe and mum for having it ready when I got home!)

But I asked them for approval and so here it is: the spread that might possibly change your life and which will make eliminating cream cheese from your diet plan pretty easy!

vegan spread

Makes a good batch (sorry, but my mum could not tell me quantities)

  • 200 g cashews
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • thyme (fresh, if possible)
  • pepper

Wash the cashews and soak them overnight (or over the day), changing the water at least once. Rinse them well and cook them with some fresh water, the garlic clove and some salt until they are soft. Drain, keeping the water in a separate bowl.

Put cashews and garlic in a food processor, add some thyme and pepper, and process until smooth. You might want to add some of the liquid if necessary. Garnish with olive oil and fresh herbs.

Cashew Cream Cheese

That’s it. Enjoy. 

Homemade vegan Cashew cheese

Cashew Cream