Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It seems to me celebrating christmas has become something purely materialistic. It’s a lot about presents and stress, because my goodness I need a present for him and her and for my boss and my colleagues and having one for my mother’s best friend would be good and the cleaning lady who greets me every now and then. About having money and supporting big companies that let us think that we need so much we actually wouldn’t even know about if it wasn’t for the perfect advertising spot on TV. About the perfectly decorated christmas tree. About the post of you and your friends wearing red hats with a white pompom. 

Let’s stay positive. Although there is no doubt in my opinion that people actually don’t celebrate the birth of Jesus, but a lot of other stuff that is far from anything religious, I enjoy this time of year. I love the atmosphere, love having a waffle at a Christkindmarkt, love seeing lights everywhere, love seeing people, families being united. In my family my great-grandmother was the only Christian, so we would celebreate christmas with her and of course, especially as a kid, it was very exciting and something I was looking forward to all december. I’m just asking myself if we are using a religious holiday to simply spend an evening with our family, cut down trees, prepare good food and think of how big next years christmas tree should be. And I’m wondering if yes, if this is something bad. Is christmas being celebrated as a religious holiday or simply as a family feast? Is there something bad about the latter? How do you celebrate christmas?

So although this year we don’t celebrate christmas, baking christmas cookies, or Weihnachtsbäckerei, are something I look forward to every year. I made a nice batch with a friend two days ago, and another one today. Vanillekipferl are so classy in Austria, I thought you might enjoy the recipe. And not only the recipe.

Vanillekipferl mit Mandeln

Makes one tray (about 60 Vanillekipferl)

  • 50 g powdered sugar
  • 50 g ground almonds
  • 100 g vegan margarine
  • 100 g all-purpose flour

EDIT: If you want your Vanillekipferl to keep their shape a little better, add 50 g of flour.

  • powdered sugar
  • vanilla sugar

Add the ingredients to a bowl and knead until you have a nice, shiny (it won’t get shiny), homogenous dough. Refrigerate for about 15 minutes.

vanilla kipferl

Make a long roll of dough and cut into small pieces. Take one piece at a time and roll between your hands to obtan a small roll. Form to a “Kipferl” and place on a baking tray lned with baking paper.

baking vanille kipferl

einfache vanillekipferl

Put the tray in a cool place for about 10 to 20 minutes.

Vanillekipferl Rezept

Preheat the oven to 180° C and bake the “kipferl” for about 10 minutes. When they come out of the oven, they will feel soft, but don’t worry, they’re done. Let them cool. Meanwhile prepare your sugar mixture to dust the kipferl. Depending on how much sugar you like (usually they are covered with sugar, but I personally find them too sweet that way), mix about half a cup of powdered sugar with one tablespoon of vanilla sugar and dust your vanillekipferl.

Enjoy. 

vanilla kipfal