Tags

, , , , , , ,

Considering the fact that the two main ingredients of these truffles are not very likely to be in the upper half of your list of favourite ingredients for sweets, I tried my best to find a fancy name. Unfortunately, the name still sounds about a hundred times worse than the taste.

The idea for this recipe comes from my aunt’s friend and I adapted it to make it as simple and foolproof as possible. When I lived in London, I often visited my family and my aunt kept telling me about these truffles her friend makes. Apparently they only contained dates, cashews, cocoa, some coconut and hemp powder. And they tasted so good. I was more than sceptical, because first of all, I am not the biggest fan of cashews and although I like dates, I couldn’t imagine how a combination of cashews and dates could possibly be so good that my aunt would repeatedly wax lyrical about them.

So it turned out they are addictive. And I mean it. I’m not sure how often you find the words healthy and addictive in one sentence. Not very often, I suppose.

Cashew and dates

You can substitute the nuts for any other kind of nuts, add chia seeds and some water, coconut, any flavour or zest… whatever really. 

Makes about 25 truffles

  • 100 g cashew nuts
  • 50 g walnuts
  • 75 g fresh dates (if using dried dates, soak for about an hour, or better overnight)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder plus more for dusting

IMG_4339

Grind the nuts in a food processor. If you like small nut chunks in your truffles, don’t grind them too finely. Transfer to a bowl and set aside.

Ground nuts

Pit the dates and add them to the food processor to form a smooth paste. If necessary, add a tablespoon of water. Combine with the nuts and the cocoa powder and form a soft ball with your hands. Depending on the size you like your pralinés make about 20 – 30 small balls and dust them in a plate with cocoa powder (or coconut).

Raw Date balls

Enjoy. 

Vegan christmas