Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but where I am sitting right now it’s 17° C outside with sunshine. Did I miss something? It’s November.

Because the weather situation will very likely change in a few days, here’s a recipe to have on hand for cold, busy days. This soup has become one of my favourite soup recipes because it’s super-quick and substantial. Perfect with toasted bread, as something to bring to a potluck, because who doesn’t love Indian food?, or, if you fancy savoury breakfasts, as a breakfast. Call me crazy.

Also, for those of you who have a command of the German language: an article about my blog and what I would do if I had one wish in gastronews.vienna 

Indian Daal

Serves 4

  • 2 onions
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • olive oil
  • 4 tbsp red curry paste
  • turmeric and ground cumin – about 1 tsp each
  • 200 g red lentils (1 cup)
  • 1 l water (5 cups)
  • salt

Cube the onions and slice the garlic. In a pot, heat some olive oil and add the onions, garlic, curry paste and spices. Roast for about 2 minutes. Meanwhile rinse the lentils and add them to the pot. Add water and some salt and reduce to middle-low heat. Let the soup simmer for about 20 minutes, adding some water occasionally if necessary.

Enjoy.

Red Lentil Soup