Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just found this story I wrote about three weeks ago with the intention of posting a recipe. Well. I guess that didn’t exactly work. 

Have you every forgotten something on the bus? I have. I once left a really really nice lentil salad I had prepared the night before with a lot of love and was looking forward to first thing in the morning.

Have you every forgotten something important on the bus? Well. Yeah. There is a difference between a lentil salad and your birth certificate, certificate of citizenship and graduation diploma.

My feet are actually hurting while I am writing this and I am fairly exhausted, because I believe I haven’t walked/rushed/panicked/been desperate (the combination of all this – so much fun!) that much for a very long time. Just because I wasn’t focused (why were phones invented, again?) that moment I got off the bus.

I was on my way to university to bring them all those documents. And then: see above. I realised about 15 minutes after I got off the bus. I was on the phone, talking to my mum when I realised. I told her. Very much unlike her, there was a long, long, loooong pause. We were both speechless. Very much unlike us.

I thought getting off was a good idea, until I realised it wasn’t and I stayed.

I stayed, fidgeting around, insanely upset and really annoyed at how my brain was partying in a remote place, a far cry from my head.

Arriving at the lost and found bureau as if I had made an 8-hour-voyage, looking something like this, and – after telling them my fun story and asking them to try and call the driver – being told they couldn’t reach him and also, he might be from the other bus company, so they couldn’t do anything but give me the number of the said company, calling that company and telling them what had happened, just to have an unfriendly voice telling me I had to wait and could call in about 20 minutes, and after calling after 20 minutes being told that “she haaaasn’t reached him yet” in a voice I wouldn’t categorize as “friendly”, did not exactly contribute to the uplift of my mood.

Right, let’s keep it short: They found the bag, I had to go to the other side of Graz to get it and I got it. Thank God. Thanks God.


Three weeks later…

…I am very very excited to tell you about my university, because I absolutely love it. Love love love it. Not only are we in groups of 13 people most of the time, but I am also still impressed by the fact that we are in an elementary school every week. Not only as guests, but in a few weeks also as actual teachers who need to prepare small tasks for the kids. I am thrilled.

Oh, one other thing I am thrilled about is that my second cooking video is finally done and online. It would be great if you could share this really amazing recipe with the world, ang give me feedback.

Here it is. The utimate no-knead bread.

Homemade White Bread

Makes one medium-sized loaf

  • 500 g all-purpose flour (3 ½ cups)
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • ½ tsp yeast
  • 500 ml water, room temperature (2 ½ cups)

No-Knead Bread

For a video instruction, click here.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt and yeast. Add the water and mix with a spoon. The consistency of the dough can be seen in the video. It shouldn’t be too liquid, but you should be able to mix it without a lot of muscle strength.

Cover the bowl with a dish towel and let rise in a cool place for about 12-18 hours.

Preheat the oven to 250° C (480° F). Pour the batter into a non-stick pot with a lid (make sure there are no plastic handles or other plastic on it). In case you don’t own a non-stick pot, you can use a normal pot with baking paper.

Bake the bread for 10 minutes, with the lid on. Reduce heat to 230° C (445° F) and bake for another 25 minutes. Take off the lid and bake for 20 minutes.

Take out of the oven and let it cool completely on a cooling rack.

C’est ça.

Enjoy.  

Bread without sourdough