Tags

, , , , , , ,

You know how you have a favourite food for two weeks, tell everyone about you newly discovered best friend, eat it all the time, no matter what time of day and then completely forget about it? Yeah? Tell me more about it. In fact, don’t, I actually just learnt about it today.

As you might know, Schupfnudeln were one of those friends. I really fell in love with them the minute I figured out how easy they are to make at home. I loved to eat them with “Zuckerbrösel” (“sugary breadcrumbs”) but my new favourite is: poppyseeds!

VeganeMohnnudeln

Serves 4-6

For the poppy-seed

  • 80 g vegan margarine or oil
  • 80 g poppy seeds (I used ground poppy seeds for this recipe, but whole ones work too)
  • 40 g powdered sugar plus a bit more for dusting
  • “Powidl” (Austrian plum jam)

Cook the Schupfnudeln.

Melt the margarine or heat the oil in a pan on medium heat. Add the poppy seeds and powdered sugar and the cooled Schupfnudeln to the mixture, dust with powdered sugar and serve with “Powidl”.

Enjoy. 

Schupfnudeln Recipe