Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I don’t know why people always think that pesto is only possible with cheese. This is a myth. Of course, the “original” pesto is made out of pine nuts, pecorino, basil, garlic, salt and olive oil. And nothing else. Next time you are in the supermarket and have a little more time, go and check what there really is in all of these pseudo pestos. Sunflower oil,   preservatives, acidity regulators, potato flakes, cashews, parsley. What a pesto.

Lately I’m quite hooked on pesto. I don’t know what happened. I have these phases where I only crave one thing. Since some weeks, I’m in my pesto phase. But not normal pesto. Almonds, tomatoes, garlic, and mint make this pesto special. Ok, let’s call this pseudo pesto, too, cause it isn’t really pesto. It’s just pure delight.

The good thing is that it’s so quick and easy and you could also use it for bruschetta or to top on your soup. It’s an all-rounder and quicker than a simple “pasta al sugo”.ingredients for one of the best pestos you'll know. tomatoes, capers, almonds,

Serves 2 (as pesto for pasta)

  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 tbsp fresh mint leaves
  • 1 tbsp fresh basil leaves
  • ½ – 1 chili (can be dried, too)
  • 70 g almonds (½ cup)
  • 1 tbsp salted capers
  • olive oil
  • salt, if needed (be careful, the capers are salty!!)
  • cherry tomatoes, to decorate (you can also halve them and fry them with some oil and garlic)

In a blender, combine all the ingredients and serve with pasta.

 

vegan pesto

I think I just broke the record for the shortest recipe.

Enjoy. 

vegan pasta with almond pesto