Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Always check if you have all your ingredients before you start to cook, cause otherwise you will end up using some unplanned ingredients, like me. Well, I used rice for rice pudding instead of risotto rice because I couldn’t find the risotto rice. After everything was on the stove, I saw that the rice I was looking for was standing directly on the counter, before my very eyes. Despite this fact, I have to say that I am more than delighted with the result of my more-or-less-fail.

So this new relationship that’s going on, have you heard about it? Carrot. Such a drama queen. She couldn’t decide whether to commit to a relationship with orange or sage, so she decided that officially it’s orange, but deep down it’s sage.

Vegetarian Risotto with Carrots Onions and Orange Zest

Serves 3-4

  • 1 big onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 medium-sized carrots
  • olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 200 g (1 cup) risotto or… you are in on that.
  • a dash of white balsamic vinegar
  • 800 ml – 1 l vegetable stock
  • 5 sage leaves
  • 1 tsp orange zest (organic orange!)

Slice the onion and the garlic, grate the carrots. In a large pan, heat some olive oil and add the onion and the garlic. Fry for about 2 minutes and add the grated carrots and the sugar.

Grated Carrots

Cook until the carrot starts to get soft and lighter. Add the rice to coat. Deglaze with a dash of vinegar and a ladleful of stock. Turn the heat to medium-high and stir until the rice until it has absorbed the stock. Add sage leaves and grated orange zest and keep on adding ladlefuls of stock and stirring occasionally until the stock is used up and the rice is cooked. (you will have to try if the rice is cooked, as this also depends on what “cooked” means for you”)

Serve with a nice salad and decorate the rice with some sage leaves and a dash of olive oil.

Carrot Risotto

Before you enjoy, I wanted to thank you, my dear followers (If you aren’t yet, click on “follow nade in the kitchen” on top of the right column or on Facebook “Like”) for your support, your nice comments and Likes, and wanted to tell you that I am more than happy to hear improvement suggestions concerning my recipes, the structure or whatever comes to your mind.

And now: Enjoy. 

Vegan Carrot Sage Risotto