Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Is this really happening? I haven’t posted anything for more than a month – but I have an excuse, I beg you pardon, more than one. There are lots of weddings going on in my family, I am finishing school this year, and this is not exactly what you call stress-free. It’s not only that I’m not posting anything, it’s that I’m not even cooking lately. Crazy.

Finally a “free” weekend – free, meaning being at home but having a hundred-and-two things to do. Doesn’t matter. I took a walk in the woods, took some nice pictures, have studied maths, and am now cooking this yummy soup. I have to admit I am a bit of a copycat, the recipe is modified from a recipe of an Austrian food magazine. But who cares, as long the soup is delicious. Nobody.

Fennel Apple Soup with Coriander and Lime

Serves 2

  • 1 apple
  • 1 potato
  • 1 small onion
  • 300 g fennel
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds, ground
  • olive oil
  • 400 ml vegetable stock
  • 1 small red chili
  • squeeze of lime juice
  • salt and pepper

Peel and cube the potato and the apple.Slice the upper part of the fennel into 1 cm thick slices and set aside. Cube the rest of the fennel and the onions. In a medium pot, heat some olive oil and add the onions and coriander seeds. Fry for 2 minutes, then add apples, fennel cubes and potato. Cook for another 2 or 3 three minutes. Add the vegetable stock and the chili and cover. Let it simmer for about 30 minutes.

DSC_0281

When the vegetables seem cooked, remove the chili and add some lime juice, salt and pepper. Puree the soup until nice and smooth and serve with the fennel slices and some olive oil.

Enjoy.

Fennel Soup with Lime