Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Oh, how I love Indian food. I think I might even dare to say that the Indian cuisine is my favourite one. There are a thousand varieties of how to mix spices in order to create the most amazing flavours. In case you are reading this and thinking about how often you have eaten Indian food and realize: “Actually I’ve nev…” go, no run, into your kitchen and start cooking this. Now.

The awkward thing about Indian food in restaurants is: you never know if “hot” really means hot, or if it’s just european-hot (so not hot at all). And I love how people (in this case men) choose to go for a extra-hot curry although they’ve never eaten Indian food. As if they have to prove their manliness. They end up eating their food without saying a word and with heads as red as a tomato – a very ripe one. Priceless.

There are these days where the only thing you crave is a curry. Like today. I decided to make a new thing, with new spices, new flavours, new combinations. Inspired by this amazingly looking curry from a pinch of yum, I made a quite mouthwatering curry.

Serves 4

  • 180 g beluga lentils (1 cup)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 piece of ginger, 1 cm
  • olive oil
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds, ground
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cardomom powder
  • 1 tsp hot curry powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 400 g tomatoes, canned (14 oz)
  • 200 ml coconut milk (7 oz)
  • 150 g couscous (1 cup)

Pre-cook the lentils in enough water for about 20 minutes. Strain them and set them aside. Chop the onions, squeeze the garlic and the ginger. In a pot, heat some olive oil and add roast the onion, until golden. Add the ginger, the garlic and the spices. Roast for anouther 2 – 4 minutes. You may need to add some more oil.

Add the canned tomatoes and let simmer for 5 minutes on medium heat. Add the lentils and the coconut milk and turn to low heat. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile pepare the coucous according to package instructions. Serve with the curry. As I tend to mix everything on my plate together, I discovered that this is potentially the best summer salad to serve with grilled vegetables.

Enjoy.