Tags

, , , , , ,

This moment when you realise the day is almost over and all you have done is slept, went for a walk, eaten and made some jam. Wow.

I spent the last week with too many wonderful people and days full of withdrawal symptoms are to come. So looking forward to it. I hate good byes. I hate living far away from the people I actually want to see every day and seeing about 700 people I don’t necessarily want to see. Every single day. But that’s life. I’m sounding like the most depressed person on earth, but I’m just trying to let you know about my feelings as good as possible. Don’t get me wrong. I love my friends and my family, but when I think about that week I just wonder why the whole earth can’t live in unity and peace.

Ok, enough. When I saw the shrivelled apricots in the kitchen today, I heard them telling me: “We wanna become jam! Not simple jam… put us together with marzipan and you’ll be satisfied.”

Here you go. Apricot marzipan jam.

Makes one 250-ml screw glass

  • 250 g ripe apricots
  • 20 g marzipan
  • 20 g sugar
  • 1/2 package vegetable thickening (5 g)

Pit the apricots and quarter them (or cut smaller, depending on their size and if you like to have apricot pieces in your jam). Put them into a pot and let them cook on low heat with the sugar, about 10 minutes. Cut the marzipan into small cubes and add to the apricots. Let it cook for another 40 minutes, until the apricots and the marzipan have “dissolved”. Add the vegetable thickening and stir for about two minutes.

Fill the hot jam into sterilized glasses and eat within 2 weeks. As I’m not a big fan of preservatives or any chemical stuff, I use normal sugar and therefore the jam has to be eaten as soon as possible. You won’t have any problems with that, I guess.

Enjoy.