Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I spent the weekend in Vienna once again (it has become my second home) and it once again were unforgettable days. I love the city, love the people, love the food. Ok, the first time we went for lunch out was a bit of a joke because it took us some fourty minutes to find  a restaurant that wasn’t closed due to holiday (although it wasn’t even a holiday that day!). But the salad I ate in the restaurant we ended up in was very good. In the evening we cooked this risotto and made some “Apfelstrudel”, an Austrian speciality. (Terrible combination of countries, but who cares?).

The next day we went to a nice, cozy, restaurant and stayed there for half the day. I’m thinking of starting to also blog about good restaurants I went to. There are so many good places nobody knows about. Why not spread the word? I can start right away: Restaurant Daniel, Vienna. I ate the pita falafel and it was delicious. Just in case you’re interested.

So now to my actual post: Unlike normal people in this world, I tend to make pancakes as dessert or even for dinner. Don’t ask me why. It has become a habit over the years, and I don’t have any intentions to change it. Pancakes are just so good as dessert. You can eat them with whatever you find in your kitchen and they are not a lot of work. My favourite is maple syrup! You can also put bananas (they will taste like the bananas you get in Chinese restaurants, just slightly healthier) or blueberries in the batter. There are so many options. Be creative!

Makes about 15 mini pancakes

  • 120 g spelt flour (1 cup)
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 200 ml soy milk (1 cup)
  • 4 tbsp rapeseed or corn oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder

In a bowl, mix the flour, corn starch, salt and sugar. Add the milk, stirring. Cover and refrigerate for about an hour. Add the oil and the baking powder.

In a non-sticking pan, pour small portions of batter into it and bake on medium-high heat, until they have a nice brown colour. Flip them over and bake until they are brown on the other side.

If you want to put bananas or blueberries in it, you can either sprinkle the pancake with the fruit before flipping it over or mix the fruit into the dough. 

Enjoy. 

Wonderful time! Focaccia that turned out a bit too hard which led to everyone calling it “pizza stones”, good falafel burger and delicious homemade ice tea!