Tags

, , , , , ,

Todays was one of those days again. I have no time for anything, but I seem to have time for making a mess in the kitchen and cleaning up everything again. But ok, I did something. I tried to prepare myself for my CAE exam by watching ridiculously useless videos about how to do a British accent and differences between American and British Accent.

After my really productive activity on YouTube, I decided to make some delicious cinnamon rolls until I realised that we had no fresh yeast at home, but some puff pastry that has been lingering in our fridge for quite a while. So why not using puff pastry instead of yeast dough that is much more work? Well, I don’t know what was wrong with the puff pastry, but it had a bit of a strange texture. It looked like it had a little too much water in it and was almost sticky. That’s why this recipe isn’t to be taken too serious, although I’m sure these rolls taste delicious with “good” puff pastry. And I promise you that I’ll post a recipe with yeast dough, too.

All you need for about 10 – 15 rolls is

  • 1 pack puff pastry, room temperature
  • two handful walnuts
  • oil
  • granulated sugar
  • cinnamon

Not oh-so-precise, I know. But that doesn’t matter. It’s totally up to you how much sugar you put in it. I recommend a minimum of 4 tablespoons, but if you decide that you need an extra-portion of sugar today, who cares?

Preheat the oven to 180° C (360° F). Chop the walnuts (you can also use already chooped ones, if you don’t want to chop them yourself). Roll out the puff pastry and spread it with oil. Sprinkle the walnuts on it,  add sugar and cinnamon and… that’s it. Roll the pastry to a roll either to make lots of little rolls or a little less big rolls. Bake for about 20 – 25 minutes, until it has the colour you like. They should not like in the picture. (They tasted so good, don’t you dare to judge them by their look!)

Enjoy.