Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m not a great cupcake fan. I always think that the toppings are way too sweet, the batter of the cupcakes is way too buttery and the whole thing is just too fat. So you see, I actually really don’t like cupcakes at all. I just think that they look too cute. I am always disappointed when I take my first bite. Strange thing.

But these cupcakes aren’t real cupcakes. That’s why they’re so good. Did you know the difference between muffins and cupcakes? There’s a difference? Yup, there is.

The first difference is obvious – the topping. The topping is what makes the cupcake to a cupcake. Have you ever eaten a cupcake without an icing? No.

The second thing is the batter. The batter of a muffin usually has no butter in it and is not that fat. The cupcake batter usually is made on the principle of “whisk the butter until light and fluffy, add the sugar and the flour and bake”. This is the batter I don’t like. There are plenty of other foods I prefer to get my calories from, really.

Ok, so my favourite cupcake is more of a pseudo cupcake – a muffin-batter-muffin (= weird word) with frosting. The batter of this recipe is the easiest thing you’ve ever seen and the result is a fluffy muffin you’d like to eat right away, even without the frosting.

Makes 12 cupcakes

for the cupcakes

  • 200 g all-purpose flour (1 1/3 cups)
  • 20 g cocoa powder (1/4 cup)
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate
  • 150 g sugar (3/4 cup)
  • 70 g vegetable oil (90 ml, 1/3 cup)
  • 180 ml soy-rice milk (3/4 cup)
  • 1 tbsp cider vinegar (no, I’m not crazy)

Preheat the oven to 180° C (360° F). For the cupcake batter, mix the dry ingredients and add the rest. Easy-cheesy. Fill the batter into a prepared muffin tin and bake them for about 20 minutes until a skewer comes clean from the center of the cake. Take the cakes out of the tin and let them cool.

So far, so good.

You might have noticed that I expect my baked goods to work out and taste and look amazing the first time I try them out. But they don’t.

So this icing also is a bit of an experiment and the first time I made it, it was delicious in my opinion. I mixed some ingredients together based on a recipe from a Babycakes Cookbook. I normally don’t care too much about the price of good quality ingredients, but there’s a point where I need to stop and think about if it’s really worth the money.

So today I tried to make a simpler and more convenient recipe and it worked out partially. I had some icing left from last time and added it, so it’s a bit difficult to give you the exact amount of ingredients, but I try my best to make it as “original” as possible. If you try it out and it turns out to be a disaster, write me and I’ll try to help you as fast as I can. The next time I make them, I’ll try to give you an exact ingredient list. Forgive me.

For the icing

  • 1 tbsp soy rice milk
  • 80 g icing sugar (2/3 cup)
  • 1 tbsp native coconut oil
  • 110 g vegetable margarine (1/2 cup), softened (such as *Alsan or *earth balance)
  • blue food colouring

In a small pot, heat the milk with the sugar and the coconut oil until the oil melts. Remove the pot from heat and let it cool. When it is almost fully cooled down, mix the margarine and add the milk-sugar mixture. You can either use powdered food colouring and mix some of it with very little (half a teaspoon) water or use liquid colour and add it dropwise until you reach the colour you want. The consistence should be nice and creamy. If it’s not, heat half of the icing and add it to the other half, mixing.

Brown and Blue is the new Black and White. Enjoy.