Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today was the third time. The third time I fell asleep in the bus and missed my stop. I always find such things so funny. Really. Especially when you end up being at the other side of the city. But: This bus-nap is probably the best part of my day. I love falling asleep on the bus. (although I’m aware of the fact that when I dream – and I always do –  I might make funny faces and look slightly weird. But as long as nobody knows me, I don’t care too much.)

This risotto was exactly the thing I needed. I just didn’t know. I was thinking about what I could cook today all day long. And suddenly – out of nowhere – the word “risotto” came to my mind and made really good friends with my stomach.

Serves 3 – 4

  • 4 onions
  • two handful cherry tomatoes + some more for decoration
  • olive oil
  • 240 g risotto rice (1 cup)
  • 2 tbsp white balsamic vinegar
  • 800 ml hot vegetable stock (4 cups), mixed with two pinches of ground saffron
  • 2 tbsp dark balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast

Cube two onions and halve the cherry tomatoes. Heat some olive oil in a pan and fry the onions, until golden, about five minutes. Add the rice and fry for two more minutes. Deglaze with the white balsamic vinegar and a ladleful of vegetable stock. Turn the heat to medium-high and stir the rice until it has absorbed the stock. Keep on adding ladlefuls of stock and stirring occasionally until the stock is used up and the rice is cooked. When half of the stock is used up, add 3/4 of the halved cherry tomatoes. If you feel like the rice could be a bit softer, add some more hot water.

While the rice is cooking, slice the two onions. In a pan, heat some olive oil and fry the onions and the rest of the cherry tomatoes. Deglaze with the dark balsamic vinegar.

Add the nutritional yeast to the rice and serve with the balsamic-tomato-onions and a green salad.

Enjoy.