Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today I went for a jog. Ok, I walked more than I ran. My stamina is like the one of an old lady. But it was good. When I came back, I was suddenly craving something Indian. No, not just something, but the best Indian thing ever – Pakora.

I have never fried something myself. I’ve always thought it too unhealthy, but when I was invited somewhere, I went wild with joy when there was something fried. It just tasted so good.

But obviously today is my day of exceptions. I decided that I need to try those crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside fried onion thingies. I always eat them in my favourite restaurant, but never thought of making them myself. So I looked up some basic recipes and created my own one.

Serves 4

  • 120 g chickpea flour (1 cup)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground chili, if you want
  • 1 potato
  • 2 onions
  • 500 ml rapeseed oil
Serve with some sweet chutney. 

In a large bowl, mix the chickpea flour with the salt and the spices. Stirring with a whisk, add 200 ml (1 cup) of water. If you feel like adding some more spices, feel free to do so. You can for instance add chili, ground coriander seeds or curry. Taste the batter and add some more salt if necessary.

Peel the potato and grate it. Quarter the onions lengthwise and cut them in not too thin slices. Add them to the water-chickpea batter.

Heat the oil in a small pot (It should be as small as possible so that you don’t need that much oil.) When the oil is hot (you can find that out either by putting a finger in the oil {highly unrecommended}, or letting a drop of the batter go in the oil. When it is brown within 10 seconds, you can start).

Put one tablespoon (or two, depending on how big your pot is) of the pakora batter into the oil and fry for about 2 to 5 minutes. Don’t make the mistake to stir around in the oil before that time, cause they will turn out to be single onion pieces swimming around in the oil. Not so good. {see picture}

When you think they are brown enough, take them out and drain on paper towels. Serve with the chutney.

Crunch Crunch. Enjoy.