Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love chocolate chunk cookies. I really do. The problem is that I don’t buy them cause I don’t support factory farming, and apart from that I don’t like the bought cookies anyways. Because they aren’t chewy. The chewy ones I get to taste from friends are often too sweet or too buttery, but, yeah, of course I eat them anyways.

So today I tried to create the perfect chewy cookie. Inspired by Baker Bettie, I tried to create my personal chocolate chunk cookie. And I have to say, they turned out quite awesome although they were still a bit too sweet for my taste. But as I’m known for sometimes using too little sugar, they’ll probably be perfect for you. I’m not completely satisfied with their look, but as long as the taste and texture is good, I’m ok with that.

Makes about 16 middle-sized cookies

  • 1 tbsp ground golden flax seed (you can also use normal ground flax seed – there’s no difference in taste, but they probably won’t fit in the picture of the perfect chocolate chunk cookie)
  • 110 g vegetable margarine (1/2 cup), softened (such as *earth balance)
  • 100 g brown sugar (1/2 cup) + 30 g white sugar (2 tbsp.)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla flavour
  • 140 g all-purpose flour (1 cup)
  • 50 g dark chocolate

Mix the flaxseed with 3 tbsp. of water and set aside.

In a bowl, combine margarine, sugar, salt and vanilla flavour and mix for about 2 minutes. Chop the dark chocolate (you can also use bought chocolate chips, I just think it’s a waste of money).

Add the flour and the chocolate to the margarine-sugar-batter and put in the fridge for about 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 170° C (340° F). Using a large scoop, drop dough balls on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for about 10 – 15 minutes. (this depends on your oven and on the texture you like.) As soon as you take them out of the oven, slide them off the baking sheet, on a cool surface.

You probably won’t resist eating one right away. Go ahead. They’re best when they’re warm.

Enjoy.